Hades Review – Hell Bent To Escape, Doomed To Remain

Developer: Supergiant Games
Publisher: Supergiant Games
Format: Nintendo Switch, PC (reviewed) 
Release Date: September 17, 2020
Purchased copy


In truth, Hades wasn’t on my radar until it blew up and people started talking about it all over the internet. I saw a little bit of the art and a bit of the rogue-lite gameplay and stayed away from it because I knew it was a game I would love and wanted no spoilers. Eventually, my own sort of personal tragedy hit and Hades became a purchase I made if only to numb my mind of it. I soon came to realize that there was much more to Hades than just slashing your way through enemies of the underworld, and I’m grateful that some of the game’s themes (such as the consequences from running from your problems and the pain of losing a loved one) moved me through such a difficult time in my life.

Now let young Zagreus guide us through Hades and beyond.

Hades follows the Hell raising protagonist Zagreus in his attempts to escape Hades and reach the surface to find his mother. There are four levels of the underworld to clear, each with their own enemy types, traps, mini bosses, and final bosses. After completing each room you’re given a predetermined reward before moving forward. These can include upgrade materials for yourself and the world around you or boons from ancient Greek gods. Each boon gives you an ability inspired by each gods’ domain. Zeus generally gives chain lightening abilities, Hermes grants you speed-based boons, Dionysus’ boons inflict hangover damage on enemies, and so on.

Every run through the levels of Hades feels unique because of each godly boon reacting differently with other boons, weapon types, and other upgrades. The only time that Hades felt even slightly repetitive was going through the same areas each run. I understand that there is preexisting lore behind each area, but it would have been nice to see some difference here and there with some sort of branching path option. Have Lord Chaos, the creator of all things, create me a level of his starry realm. Maybe the Fates could weave me an optional side area filled with new challenge. I think there’s potential to move away from some of the more concrete aspects of Greek mythology for the sake of keeping things just a little more interesting area-wise.

However, Hades does a great job of making each run enjoyable in other ways as well. Later in the game, for example, the player can take on contracts that up the difficulty in different ways and even have some effect on boss fights and dialogue. And just when you think that you know how each weapon works, the game tosses in some different forms they can take for good measure. These forms drastically changed my approach with weapons and even made some that I disliked a new favorite. Hades keeps you on your toes all the way through and, just when it starts to feel like it has to be running out of content, it hits you with something that opens up new possibilities.

Not every area in Hades dark and dreary, at least.

My favorite aspect of Hades is, surprisingly, the story. Having played games like The Binding of Isaac, I didn’t expect the story in Hades to be anything more than a bit of side content. Hades proved me wrong so expertly, in fact, that the story became more of the forefront of the game for me. I found myself even feeling excitement each time I failed an escape attempt because I knew there would be new character dialogue waiting for me back in the House of Hades, the game’s hub area. Each interaction gives away just a little more about the back story and who these characters really are which is sometimes behind countless walls they’ve put up against you.

At their most superficial level the characters are some of the most well designed I’ve seen. Even without knowing a lick of Greek mythology, I’m confident that the character designs alone would give you an understanding of who they are and what sort of power they hold. Dionysus has flowing purple hair that matches his goblet of wine and a relaxed face that makes him seem like a party man. Lord Chaos is an amalgamation of creatures and holds the world between his thumb and index finger like a marble. And if their mere appearance wasn’t enough, the voice acting and writing of each phenomenally sells the rest. Zeus’s voice booms, Orpheus’ is light and airy, Aphrodite lovingly calls you her “little godling,” and Zagreus has the perfect combination of seriousness and snarky wit that carries each interaction with the other characters to places both melancholic and humorous.

Although Hades uses characters and stories from Greek mythology to build its own narrative, it isn’t vital to know everything there is to know about the mythos to enjoy the game. Hades has a way of bringing each aspect of a character’s mythos to light as the story unfolds, so even those coming to the game with little knowledge of Greek mythology can access the story and underlining implications of each character. I, not knowing very much about Greek mythology having only studied it in high school, loved following the story and having moments where I suddenly remember exactly what a character has gone through from their respective myths.

This reliance on Greek mythology presents a unique dilemma within the game’s narrative that both helps and hinders it. In one motion, it helps to establish characters before the player even meets them. The Greek mythos moves to push characterization forward to then progress them through their made up story lines created for Hades. This works great for characters like Orpheus and Euridice who you can help to reunite through understanding their hardships together. However, it also makes the main storyline predictable with even the slightest knowledge of how Hades and Persephone’s mythos plays out. Even now, I’m reluctant to spoil exactly what happens, but that also feels just as ridiculous as not wanting to spoil the outcome of a mythology that’s over 2,700 years old, as the outcome is largely, and somewhat disappointingly, the same.

Zagreus is the type to stir the pot and keep things interesting.

 I’ve realized over the years that a rogue-lite has to be very good to hold my attention, and I’m happy to say that Hades holds my heart like that of The Binding of Isaac and Rogue Legacy. It shuttled me through my personal river Styx with its endless charm and seemingly limitless content. As of late I find the game playing out very much like a dating sim, for example, and I’m loving every moment of it. Even after beating the game, there’s still so much more I have to experience and I look forward to seeing what else the Fates have in store for Hades and Supergiant Games.

9/10

One Hell of a Game

Leave a comment